

To: Members of the Communities Scrutiny Committee Date: 6 December 2024

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE** to be held at **10.00 am** on **THURSDAY**, **12 DECEMBER 2024** in **COUNCIL CHAMBER**, **COUNTY HALL**, **RUTHIN AND BY VIDEO CONFERENCE**.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Monitoring Officer

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 **DECLARATION OF INTERESTS** (Pages 3 - 4)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 **MINUTES** (Pages 5 - 10)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on 24 October 2024 (copy attached).

5 SUSTAINABILITY OF THE PLANNING COMPLIANCE FUNCTION (Pages 11 - 46)

To consider a report by the Development Manager (copy attached) to examine the Council's planning compliance enforcement activities across Denbighshire and their sustainability going forward.

6 HOUSING RENT SETTING AND HRA BUDGETS 2025/26 (Pages 47 - 92)

To consider a report by the Lead Officer – Community Housing (copy attached) to examine the process for determining the recommendations on the level of weekly rent increases for community housing tenants.

7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 93 - 114)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

8 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Huw Williams (Chair)

Michelle Blakeley-Walker James Elson Jon Harland Carol Holliday Brian Jones Councillor Karen Anne Edwards (Vice-Chair) Delyth Jones James May Merfyn Parry Cheryl Williams

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils